LockDown Browser® is a custom browser that locks down the testing environment within a learning management system.
How LockDown Browser Works
- Assessments are displayed full-screen and cannot be minimized
- Browser menu and toolbar options are removed, except for Back, Forward, Refresh and Stop
- Prevents access to other applications including messaging, screen-sharing, virtual machines, and remote desktops
- Printing and screen capture functions are disabled
- Copying and pasting anything to or from an assessment is prevented
- Right-click menu options, function keys, keyboard shortcuts and task switching are disabled
- An assessment cannot be exited until the student submits it for grading
- Assessments that are set up for use with LockDown Browser cannot be accessed with other browsers
If you are an instructor, please watch this video on how to enable Respondus LockDown Browser in your Blackboard course.Learn More
LockDown Browser Overview for Students and InstructorsLearn More
What do I need to share with my students?
Once the Respondus LockDown Browser has been enabled in your Blackboard course, navigate to "Course Tools" -> "Respondus LockDown Browser" -> "Getting Started" -> "Information for your Syllabus and Course Description". Select the appropriate option: "I'm using LockDown Browser only in my course" or "I'm using LockDown Browser and the webcam feature (Respondus Monitor)" in my course" then copy the information from the text box and paste it in the sylabus or share it with your students via Email (or both)
Should I use "LockDown Browser only" in my course" or "LockDown Browser and the webcam"
It is up to you whether you are going to use "LockDown Browser only" or "LockDown Browser and the webcam feature" in your course. It is recommended to do a survey among your students to see what kind of devices they are using and whether web-cameras are available to them (Respondus can only work with PC, Mac OS and iPads). After you do the survey you can decide which option you would like to go with.